Michigan DMV Test Prep
Use the following MI(Michigan) DMV practice tests to study for your DMV permit test, driver’s license test, and/or senior citizens’ refresher test.
Depending on your study style, you can choose to study by individual topics, do a DMV permit test simulation, and/or challenge yourself to the ultimate DMV marathon test that includes all of the test questions for Michigan.
Applying for your MI License
What is the minimum age to apply for a driving permit in Michigan?
In Michigan, you may apply for your learner’s permit starting at age 14 and 9 months.
What documents will I need to submit when applying for a driver's license in Michigan?
If it is your first time applying for a license in Michigan, you will need to have:
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of US Citizenship
- Proof of Identity
- Proof of Residency
- A green Michigan Department of State Segment 1 Certificate of Completion (if under 18).
How do I contact my nearest Michigan SOS office?
Getting Ready for Your MI Permit Test
On the Michigan permit test, what will I be tested on?
The permit test is comprised of written questions about Michigan state-specific traffic laws, road signs, and rules of safe driving. The test questions have been created from material found in the Michigan Driver’s Manual and cover a range of topics including vehicle safety responsibility, right-of-way, signals, signs, and markers, parking, stopping, and standing, alcohol and drug impact on the driving ability, and more. In addition to passing the written exam, you will also need to pass a vision screening.
What is the best way to study for the Michigan permit test?
Although the MI driver’s handbook is the source of truth when it comes to writing the Michigan permit test, it can be confusing to study from it. Our FREE MI DMV Practice Tests contain questions that are 100% accurate and based on the driver’s manual. We break down the topics into 13 easy to understand practice tests. Focus on road signs, speeding limits, traffic violations, defensive driving techniques and proper yielding situations. And whenever you answer a question, you tell you WHY on the spot so you won’t make the same mistake again. When you done studying the individual topics, take our FREE MI DMV marathon test and MI DMV permit test simulator to assess your readiness for the real test. Remember, you can take our prep tests as many times as you want until you are 100% ready.
Is driver’s education required in order to get an Michigan learner’s permit?
- If you are under 18, you need to complete segment 1 of driver’s ed which includes 24 hours of classroom instruction with a daily maximum of 2 hours a day, 6 hours of behind the wheel driving instruction, with a daily maximum of 1 hour a day. At least 4 hours of classroom instruction must be completed before starting driving training and at least 3 hours of driving training must be completed before your very last classroom instruction.
- Adults over 18 do not need to complete driver’s education
Is there a mobile Michigan DMV Practice Test app for my iPhone/iPad and/or android device(s)?
Yes, there is. In fact, our FREE DMV Practice Test app (DMV Hub) has over 2 million downloads to date. We make passing the DMV permit test even easier with features like smart timer and in-app analytical tools that tell you if you are ready to take the real test or not. You can download our app from the App Store or Google Play.
How many questions are on the Michigan DMV Test?
The Michigan permit test consists of 50 multiple choice questions.
What's the passing mark for the Michigan DMV Test?
You must score 40 out of 50 questions correctly to pass the Michigan permit test.
Taking Your MI Permit Test
How do I sign up for my permit test in Michigan?
To sign up for your permit test in Michigan, simply find a local SOS office when you’re ready to apply.
Which SOS office should I go to take my permit test in Michigan?
It doesn’t matter which SOS office you go to, but most people choose to go to a SOS office nearest to them. To find out where the SOS offices are located at, visit the SOS offices page.
How do I pass the Michigan permit test?
To pass your Michigan permit test, you are expected to know Michigan traffic laws, road signs, and rules for safe driving. All material will be taken from the Michigan Driver’s License manual, which is what our FREE DMV practice test questions are based on. Subjects will cover sharing the road, meaning of road signs, navigating Intersections, speeding consequences, drinking and driving laws.
There are 50 multiple choice questions on the permit test. You need to get at least 80% in order to pass. Remember, You are NOT allowed to use the driver’s handbook during your permit test. You are being tested on your ability to recall the rules of the road. Prepare yourself before you go in and you will see that you can do well without the manual.
I failed my Michigan permit test, what should I do?
If you failed your written test, you won’t be given a permit.You must wait at least 24 hours before taking it again.
I passed my Michigan permit test! Now what?
If you are over 18 years old, you must hold your learner’s permit for at least 30 days before taking the road test.
If you are under 18 years old, you need to hold onto your permit for at least 6 months, during this time you must complete segment 2 of driver’s ed which contains 6 hours of classroom instruction. You must also get 50 hours of driving training
When can I take my road test?
After getting your learner’s permit, you must wait at least 30 days if you are over 18 years old before you could take your road test. If you are under 18, you must wait at least 6 months.
During this time period, teens under 18 would need to complete segment 2 of driver’s ed which consists of 6 hours of classroom instruction and a written test as well as obtain 50 hours of behind-the-wheel training. In addition, you may drive in various places with your learner’s permit as long as you have a licensed driver age 21 or older beside you.
Who may I have in the car with me while driving in Michigan with a learner's permit?
You must have a licensed driver aged 21 or older accompanying you and supervising while you drive with a learner’s permit.
New to Michigan
Will I have to pass a road test when I move to Michigan from another state？
Usually no road test is required. However, that is up to the discretion of the examiner.
Is my out-of-state learners permit valid in Michigan?
Yes, if you’re 16 or older you may drive with you out-of-state learner’s permit in Michigan. You must adhere to the rules of both your home state and Michigan.
Where do I find more driving-related information when moving to Michigan?
If you have further questions regarding driving in Michigan, you should visit the Michigan SOS website.